How long will it take to get a police report?
Every report must be completed and thoroughly reviewed before it is available for public release. The approval process generally takes one to two days, however it may take longer depending on scheduling. All requests for reports will be completed as promptly as possible.
How do I find if someone is in jail?
You can check the Warren County Jail website. The Lebanon Division of Police does not house inmates.
How do I file charges against someone?
The Lebanon City prosecutor determines whether or not criminal charge should be filed. The Lebanon City prosecutor is at the Lebanon Municipal Court on Mondays and Thursdays between 1:00 pm and 4:00 pm. You will need to complete the Private Complaint Report form and bring it to court.
How do I retrieve my vehicle from impound?
A vehicle that has been impounded by the Lebanon Division of Police may be released by obtaining the Impound Report release at the Police Division, 25 W. Silver Street, Lebanon, Ohio.
The vehicle may be released by the Police Division between the hours of 8:00 AM and 6:00 PM, Monday through Saturday.
The vehicle will only be released to the owner or his/her agent with proper documentation.
The expense of the towing and storage must be paid to the wrecker service before they will release the vehicle.
The Lebanon Division of Police uses various towing companies, to find out where an impounded vehicle is please call (513) 932-2010.
Where do I go to pay a traffic fine?
Traffic fines that are for the Lebanon Municipal Court may be paid at the court located on the second floor of the City Building at 50 S. Broadway between 8:00 am and 4:00 pm, Monday - Friday.
Fines may also be paid at the Lebanon Police Department at 25 W. Silver Street twenty-four hours a day.
Fines may be paid by cash or check with appropriate identification.
The court and the Police Department can both tell you the amount of the fine. Contact the court at (513) 932-7210 or contact the police at (513) 932-2010.
For more information on the Lebanon Municipal Court CLICK HERE.
Does the Lebanon Division of Police provide fingerprint services?
Yes. The Lebanon Division of Police provides fingerprinting and WebCheck.
WebCheck is an internet-based program for conducting fingerprint-based civilian background checks. This program reduces the return time of civilian background checks to as little as several hours when no criminal history record exists.
In 1993, the Ohio General Assembly passed numerous state laws requiring background checks for certain occupations including individuals who work with children, those who work with the elderly, certain licensed professionals and persons working in the financial industry. New legislation outlining background check requirements has continued to pass since this time and the number of background checks increases annually.
These services are provided Tuesday and Thursday, 9:00 am - 12:00 noon.
The fee for WebCheck is $35.00 to $55.00, and only cash is accepted. A photo ID or driver's license is required. You must provide exact address for WebCheck results to be mailed. If you require an FBI check, you must provide the correct FBI Code. The entity requiring you to be fingerprinted will be able to supply you wiht that code.
Please be aware that the results may take up to 30 days or more to be mailed from the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation.
The fee for ink-rolled fingerprints is $5.00 per card, and only cash is accepted.
Should my electricity or water go out after all City offices are closed, who do I contact?
After normal business hours (Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm) and on the weekends, the Lebanon Communications Center will call out any Lebanon utility for repairs. Unfortunately they may not be able to tell you the problem or when it will be corrected. Please call (513) 932-2010.
When I call 9-1-1 for emergency assistance, who answers the phone?
Dispatchers at the Lebanon Police Department answer the 9-1-1 phone. Once the dispatcher classifies the call, police, fire, or paramedic personnel is dispatched.
What do I do in case of an automobile accident?
Ohio law requires all drivers to stop immediately after an accident and exchange information with the other party(s). The following is the information that you should exchange with the other party(s):
- Name and address
- Driver’s license number
- Vehicle make, model, color, and license plate number
- Insurance company and agent
- Date, time, location, witnesses, and any injuries
If you wish to file an accident report, call the police.
If the vehicles are drivable, move the cars off the roadway to prevent the occurrence of another accident.
Does the police department have information about school closings during inclement weather?
No. The police department does not make the decision concerning a school closing, and the superintendent does not advise us when such an event occurs. We suggest you listen to a local radio or television station or call the school in question.
Can the police department provide me with information about road conditions during inclement weather?
The Lebanon Police Department will be happy to provide road conditions for the City of Lebanon. However, we are unable to provide road conditions for any streets outside the City limits.
How can I assist the police and fire departments in locating my residence quickly?
Display your address in a location easily observed from the street. An address displayed near a front door and near a light makes it easier for the responding personnel to locate the address during the day and night.
When the disaster sirens are activated, should I call the Police Department for information?
No. Listen to your radio or television weather reports for current information. The Lebanon Division of Police obtains our weather information from these and other sources. Also, when citizens call the Communications Center this ties up our telephone lines for emergency services due to the storm. This can cause delays in response by the police, fire, and EMS services.
Do not call 9-1-1 for storm information or to report a non-emergency incident.
Remember, during a severe storm, the dispatchers are very busy with emergency calls for police, fire, and paramedic services. If you need to report a non-emergency incident to the Police Department, call (513) 932-2010.
The tornado siren is tested on the first Wednesday of each month at 12:00 noon.